FORGIVING—is Not Forgetting

Leave a comment

March 20, 2017 by directorfsm

Original posted on March 20, 2017 by https://secretangelps911.wordpress.com/2017/03/20/forgiving-is-not-forgetting/comment-page-1/#comment-22931

As victims of abuse…

many make this mistake…

trying to stay friends with abusers…

but continued abuses we take.

For we associate the need to forgive…

with the belief that we need to forget.

But when we pretend it didn’t happen…

more abuses occur that we will regret.

For forgiveness does not mean forgetting…

it just means releasing the hurts of the past…

for God is our Righteous Judge…

and vindication is part of His tasks.

But to extend forgiveness…

without necessitating a  change of heart…

allows the evil to continue…

and that cycle that many just can’t depart.

Matthew 18:21-22

“Then Peter came and said to Him, “Lord, how often shall my brother sin against me and I forgive him? Up to seven times?” Jesus said to him, “I do not say to you, up to seven times, but up to seventy times seven.”

Source: FORGIVING—is Not Forgetting (Matthew 18:21-22)

© Secret Angel and The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel, 2017.

The bible does command us to forgive those who have sinned against us, I too have search and do not find where God commands us to forget. That is not to say God in His loving-kindness can not and does not graciously erase the bad memories of many believers; but not all.
The typical question I get at this point is “why not me”, and my response can only be truthfully I do not know, I am not God. What I do know, what trust in, and hope you do too, is His sovereignty. He controls all things, has a plan for all things to His glory even this. I know that a day with God is better than any day without no matter the circumstances.
Mike

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

