A Prayer for a Friend Doubting the Faith

Leave a comment

February 10, 2017 by directorfsm

clip_image002_thumb.jpgFebruary 10

Keep yourselves in the love of God, waiting for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ that leads to eternal life. And have mercy on those who doubt. (Jude 21– 22)

Dear Jesus, the liar and thief is at it again, and a good friend has a bull’s-eye painted on his chest. The one who maliciously asked, “Did God really say . . . ?” (Gen. 3: 1) continues his unrelenting assault, seeking to twist, undermine, and sabotage the only Word that gives life. I long for the day when our already-defeated foe becomes our fully eradicated enemy. Hasten the day, Lord . . . hasten that day.

Jesus, as you know, this is a friend who’s {helped many people find peace in you}{new to the Faith*}{experiencing serious personal issues*}{backslidden*}, but right now he’s not really sure what he believes. He’s beyond anger. There’s a scary void in his eyes. He feels abandoned by you and cruelly punished. This could be burnout, but it feels like more.

I ache for him, Jesus. I groan for my friend and grapple for his heart. Help me love him well. Give me patience to stay present in his chaos. Help me wade through what feels like a smoke screen of theological questions to get to the real issues of his heart. What’s really going on inside of him, Jesus? Give me discernment. Give me good answers for honest questions, but give me great mercy for his real needs, whatever they are.

And please keep him from medicating in destructive ways. Pain makes us vulnerable, and isolation intensifies our demand for relief. He’s pulling away from those of us he’s walked with for years. That’s what concerns me the most. Jesus, I’ll keep pursuing and praying, but I put much more stock in your prayers than mine. You never stop interceding for us (Rom. 8: 34); you ever live to pray for us (Heb. 7: 25). I cannot imagine your prayers failing. Restore the joy of your salvation in my friend. Bring him home to your heart. As you prayed for the protection of your disciples, I’m confident of your prayers for my friend (John 17: 15). I pray with peace, in your tender and tireless name. Amen.

{*} are my additions, maybe you can think of more?

Edited from: Smith, Scotty. Everyday Prayers: 365 Days to a Gospel-Centered Faith (p. 55). Baker Publishing Group. Kindle Edition.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

