Ministry Update

Leave a comment

April 27, 2015 by directorfsm

Hi folks,

I pray this finds everyone in good health and spirits. It has been quite a while since I have sent out a formal update so please excuse the length of this one.

First Naida and I are both healthy and doing quite well. She is still volunteering a few days a week at the Mercy House and loving it more and more. Since my youngest daughter move here last fall with three of the grandkids Naida has even been happier if that is possible. The blessings keep pouring in as my daughter recently got a very good job locally so it looks like she’s here for the long haul (hoorah)

Lakeshore Baptist Church is also doing well. We have unofficially been using the new church building since January even though it remains incomplete. PLEASE keep that a matter of prayer. We need volunteers (used to be our summer calendar was full by now this year one team) especially to help finish the outside. I still serve as project manager for that and the house on Pike Street.

We have been getting many visitors lately and are praying God will put it on their hearts to make LBC their home. I am not sure but I think our membership stands at around 50 with weekly average attendance at about 65. On Easter we had 100+. Again pray the Lord will grow His body of believers here. Bro. Don continues to preach the unfeigned Gospel and I truly believe it is that (not fancy gimmicks) that will draw men unto the Lord.

As for me, much has transpired. Last fall I thought I was in line to become a Chaplain in Training with Good News Jail & Prison Ministry. Then do to a series of circumstances that seemed to fall through. I persisted in my duties as Volunteer Chaplain (I have been for over 1 year the de-facto Chaplain) and three weeks ago received a call from the GNJ&P regional director asking if I still wished to interview for the position. God’s plans are not always on our timing hey. Needless to say I said yes and the interview was conducted two weeks ago Friday. It is a long process with no guarantee of being taken on board but with many supporters (my Pastor, the Warden, Sheriff, fellow volunteers and correctional staff) I have begun the process to fulfill the added requirements.

Today I begin online classes at Belhaven University as a Junior with the goal of BA in Biblical Studies. As some of you know I was working on my master’s thesis. It was from a non-regionally accredited college and not acceptable by GNJ&P. Going back to the classroom after all these years has me both excited and intimidated. Please keep me in prayer on this matter.

Finally I need to mention Faithful Steward Ministries. As you may realize we are no longer publishing the Apologist. This still bothers me but realistically there is just not enough time in the day to accomplish everything on my plate as it is.

I am still posting sermons (rewrites) from the jail and other items on the website http://www.fsmandfsmwo.org I encourage you to look at it and follow us there or on Facebook at tp://www.facebook.com/pages/Faithful-Steward-Ministries-and-FSM-Womens-Outreach/178166535561150

 The goal is to transition FSM&FSMWO to a Hancock County Jail Ministry web site and FB page and eventually put out some form of quarterly or semi-annual newsletter/publication.

            Well I have rambled on long enough. If you have any questions please email me or feel free to call or text me.

 

In HIS Service

 

Mike P.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

