Judgment for the Defendant Paid in Full

Leave a comment

October 5, 2014 by directorfsm

Preached September 3, 2014 Lakeshore Baptist Church, Lakeshore, MS

            Whenever I think of judgment day I think of a court room with God presiding over the proceedings. My mind has it a regal affair yet a dark side as Satan and his minions prepare to demand our souls.

            So I found the following (I cannot remember where) and thought I’d share it.   

After living what I felt was a ‘decent’ life, my time on earth came to the end.

The first thing I remember is sitting on a bench in the waiting room of what I thought to be a court house.

The doors opened and I was instructed to come in and have a seat by the defense table.

As I looked around I saw the ‘prosecutor’.

He was a villainous looking gent who snarled as he stared at me. He definitely was the most evil person I have ever seen.

I sat down and looked to my left and there sat My Attorney, a kind and gentle looking man whose appearance seemed so familiar to me, I felt I knew Him.

The corner door opened and there appeared the Judge in full flowing robes. He commanded an awesome presence as He moved across the room. I couldn’t take my eyes off of Him.

As He took His seat behind the bench, He said, ‘Let us begin.’

The prosecutor rose and said, ‘My name is Satan and I am here to show you why this man belongs in hell.’

He proceeded to tell of lies that I told, things that I stole, and in the past when I cheated others. Satan told of other horrible perversions that were once in my life, and the more he spoke, the further down in my seat I sank.

I was so embarrassed that I couldn’t look at anyone, even my own Attorney, as the Devil told of sins that even I had completely forgotten about.

As upset as I was at Satan for telling all these things about me, I was equally upset at My Attorney who sat there silently not offering any form of defense at all.

I know I had been guilty of those things, but I had done some good in my life – couldn’t that at least equal out part of the harm I’d done?

Satan finished with a fury and said, ‘This man belongs in hell, he is guilty of all that I have charged and there is not a person who can prove otherwise.’

When it was His turn, My Attorney first asked if He might approach the bench. The Judge allowed this over the strong objection of Satan, and beckoned Him to come forward.

As He got up and started walking, I was able to see Him in His full splendor and majesty.

I realized why He seemed so familiar; this was Jesus representing me, my Lord and my Savior.

He stopped at the bench and softly said to the Judge, ‘HI, DAD,’ and then He turned to address the court.

‘Satan was correct in saying that this man had sinned, I won’t deny any of these allegations. And, yes, the wage of sin is death, and this man deserves to be punished.’

Jesus took a deep breath and turned to His Father with outstretched arms and proclaimed, ‘However, I died on the cross so that this person might have eternal life and he has accepted Me as his Savior, so he is Mine.’

My Lord continued with, ‘His name is written in the Book of Life, and no one can snatch him from Me. Satan still does not understand yet. This man is not to be given justice, but rather mercy.’

As Jesus sat down, He quietly paused, looked at His Father and said, ‘There is nothing else that needs to be done. I’ve done it all.’

The Judge lifted His mighty hand and slammed the gavel down. The following words bellowed from His lips…..

‘This man is free. The penalty for him has already been paid in full. Case dismissed.’

I asked Jesus as He gave me my instructions where to go next, ‘Have you ever lost a case?’

Christ lovingly smiled and said, ‘Everyone that the father has given me to represent they have received the same verdict as you, ~ Judgment for the defendant Paid In Full.’

            This is a nice story, kinda one of those feel good stories I you would find posted on Facebook. But there is much more to this, it is full of biblical truths that should not be ignored. I thought tonight we would explore some of the implications for believers and non-believers alike.

1) All mankind will be judged; Hebrews 9:27And as it is appointed unto men once to die, but after this the judgment …. 2 Corinthians 5:10 – For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ; that every one may receive the things [done] in [his] body, according to that he hath done, whether [it be] good or bad.

            Most “Christians” will acknowledge the coming judgment. However many believe that they are exempt.   2 Corinthians 5:10 tells a different story. and so does (1 Peter 4:17)  “For the time is come that judgment must begin at the house of God: and if it first begin at us, what shall the end be of them that obey not the gospel of God?”

            The question is are you ready? And what gives God the right to judge me? After all I am such a bad person.

2) All mankind has sinned  Rom 3:23 says all have sinned… Romans 5:12 – Wherefore, as by one man sin entered into the world, and death by sin; and so death passed upon all men, for that all have sinned:

            How foolish is man? I recently read an article that claimed that the only reason we have sin in the world is because biblical law points it out to us. Like if the bible went away so would sin? I am afraid to know what fairy tale land this person lives in?

            No the reality of Biblical Law can best be described by A.W. Pink:

3) Sin deserves to be punished 6:23 says the wages of sin is death… Ezekiel 18:4 – Behold, all souls are mine; as the soul of the father, so also the soul of the son is mine: the soul that sinneth, it shall die.

            God, The God of the Bible, created all things, h=He alone is worthy of all praise and honor. Yet man chose to defile himself and sin against this God. It is only right that God demands justice.

4) Physical death is inevitable for everyone but what happens next: Matt 25:46 says And these shall go away into everlasting punishment: but the righteous into life eternal.

            What happens after our physical death has been debated for years. And despite tales of folks seeing heaven (the recent film Heaven is for Real comes to mind) there is no proof aside from our faith what happens next.

            But that is the point. We need no story or cute movie to reassure us. We have the Word of God. Our faith; derived from what we read in those pages are all the assurance we need.

5) Satan is real   Job 1:7 – And the LORD said unto Satan, Whence comest thou? Then Satan answered the LORD, and said, From going to and fro in the earth, and from walking up and down in it.

            He walks the earth seeking his next conquest 

6) Satan wants you   Ephesians 6:12 – For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high [places].

            Even the unbeliever understands some right and wrong and wrestles with this daily.

7) Satan will do anything to get you  2 Corinthians 11:14 – And no marvel; for Satan himself is transformed into an angel of light.

            Satan is the great deceiver and will even disguise himself as a child of God. We must be able to discern true believers to avoid falling prey to some of his traps.

            Note on judgment day he has no need of lies or deceit. For our sin is real and cannot be excused away.

8) We are powerless to conquer sin and Satan’s accusations on our own

Romans 7:25b  …So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh the law of sin.

Romans 8:3   For what the law could not do, in that it was weak through the flesh, God sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh, and for sin, condemned sin in the flesh

            See that the law itself was not powerless; no it was only made so because of our weak flesh.

Gal 5:17  For the flesh lusteth against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh: and these are contrary the one to the other: so that ye cannot do the things that ye would.

            Realize this is the Apostle Paul here confessing he is powerless over sin.

9) The POWER comes from Christ alone  1 Corinthians 15:57 – But thanks [be] to God, which giveth us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.

            This; my friends is the core of this lesson. Our victory over death and eternal destruction can only be found in and through Christ. It is the message of John 3:16 For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, the power of Romans 5:8 – But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us and the promise of Romans 8:1 – [There is] therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.

            It is the Gospel message in a nutshell the glorious good news Christ lived, Christ died, Christ rose again and Christ sits at the right hand of the father your personal defense attorney. It is He alone who can declare Judgment for the Defendant is Paid in Full.

            Well I hope you see the full impact this little story can have. It is chock full of doctrines such as Election, Calling, Regeneration, Justification, Man’s depravity, God’s Grace, Limited Atonement, and of course Salvation. All of which can be used in our daily lives as we go about God’s work sharing the Good News of Christ.

Until next time may God keep you and bless you in your daily walk.

In HIS Service

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

